Tax Exemption Criteria

Exemptions are a reduction in the assessed value of your property. Application forms are available in the Assessing Office at Town Hall or by ckicking here The following exemptions are available in Amherst:

Elderly Exemptions:

  • 65 to 74 Years Old $76,000
  • 75 to 79 Years Old $114,000
  • 80 Years Old or Older $151,000

Blind Exemption: $37,000
Disabled Exemption: $65,000
Solar Energy Exemption: 100% of the Added Value With a $30,000 Maximum

Qualifying Criteria

Elderly Exemptions: To qualify, the applicant must have been a New Hampshire resident for at least three (3) years, own the real estate individually or jointly, or if the real estate is owned by such person’s spouse, they must have been married for at least five (5) years. In addition, the taxpayer must have a net income* of not more than $41,760 or, if married, a combined net income* of less than $57,000 and own net assets not in excess of $150,000 excluding the value of the person’s residence and two acres of land. RSA 72:39-a

*Net income as defined in RSA 72:39-a is determined by deducting from “all monies received” including social security or pension payments, the amount of any of the following:  Life insurance paid on the death of an insured; expenses and costs incurred in the course of conducting a business enterprise; and/or proceeds from the sale of assets.

Blind Exemptions: To qualify, the applicant must be legally blind as determined by the blind services program, bureau of vocational rehabilitation, department of education. RSA 72:37

Disabled Exemptions: To qualify, the applicant must be eligible under the federal Social Security Act for benefits to the disabled, must meet the income and asset requirements as stated in the elderly exemption qualifications, and must have been a New Hampshire resident for at least 5 years prior to April 1st. RSA 72:37-b

Solar Energy Exemption: To qualify, the applicant must provide evidence (through a finalized building permit or a physical inspection) of the existence of functioning solar energy equipment in the residence. The exemption is equal to 100% of the added valuation of the solar heating or cooling system with the maximum exemption not to exceed $30,000. There is no added tax to the property owner for a solar energy system. RSA 72:62