Planning Board

The Amherst Planning Board is seeking members to serve.  If you are interested in serving on the Planning Board, please contact Deb Butcher at 673-6041 x206 or by email at

The Planning Board consists of seven appointed members and several alternates. The members are appointed by the Board of Selectmen and their term of office is for three years. The Board reviews Non-Residential Site Plans, Water Resource Management Plans, Conditional Use Permits, Sign Master Plans and Subdivision Plans for new construction and existing parcels. They also make recommendations for changes to the Zoning Ordinance to be voted on by Town Meeting. The Planning Board meets the first Wednesday of the month for their Regular Meetings and the third Wednesday for Worksessions, both at 7:30 p.m. and is supported by staff in the Community Development Office.

Much of the work of the Amherst Planning Board is guided by the New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated (RSA), Title LXIV: Planning and Zoning and the Town’s Master Plan which was updated in 2010. 

Board Members

Name Title
Arnold Rosenblatt Chair (2019)
Michael Dell Orfano Member (2019)
Clifford Harris Member (2017)
Eric Hahn Alternate (2018)
Marilyn Peterman Alternate (2018)
Sally Wilkins Member (2018)